top of page

An Invitation

Hey everyone! I haven't posted in a REALLY long time and I seriously feel terrible about it! I am trying my hardest to get back into the routine of blogging every week so we will see how it goes. Anyway, onto the devotional.

We used to use candles now we use flashlights, phones, etc. to guide our way in the dark. What about the darkness in your heart? What do you use to guide yourself through it? We all know that Jesus is supposed to be the answer to that, but in reality, we usually like to steer our own plane. We may try. We can try really hard but I hate to break it to you! Your a sinner! I know it's really hard to hear, but if you don't want to blame it on yourself you can blame it on Eve but it really won't help that much. (That was a joke, sadly, your to blame for your mistakes that you make.) We are supposed to have Jesus guiding our way through life and have him in the pilots seat and we will ride shotgun. I can't tell you how many times I have heard that in my 15 years of life. And I still have the hardest time wrapping my head around how I'm supposed to have a being who I can't even see steering my plane/life. But I have come to a point where all it takes is a GIANT leap of FAITH. (I put those in caps just so that you'll see how giant that leap of faith has to be.) I take that leap all the time and I still find myself slowly inching myself into the pilot seat. And i just have to remind myself that I need to let go and let Jesus take the wheel. I know you've probably left this and already come back to it a million times trying to just finish this paragraph so I'll move on but just keep all that in mind as you read the passage.

I invite you to read the beginning of this passage but it is a little too long to fit in this blog so I just typed up the parts that stuck out to me most.

V. 10-11 Who among you fears the LORD and obeys the voice of his servant? Let him who walks in darkness and has no light trust in the name of the LORD and rely on his God. Behold, all you who kindle a fire, who equip yourselves with burning torches! Walk by the light of your fire, and by the torches that you have kindled! Here's what I'm going to do to you. I'll make you lie down in great pain.

Main Points:

- God loves you!

- Lay your torches down and let Jesus guide your path!

The love that Christ has for you is beyond the minds comprehension. We avoid it. We ignore it. Why? It's our human nature as sinners. But this passage is an invitation to a light to guide us through our darkness, a light to guide us so that we can lay our own torches down and let God lead the way with the blazing fire.

The only question is: Are you going to RSVP? If so, is it going to be a yes or a no?


bottom of page